…Baby, One More Time?

No, I’m not pregnant. Not even “trying”.

It’s just that the other night, out of the blue (okay, not totally apropos of nothing; we were watching Lost Season 3 on DVD, and Juliette had just told Jack she was a fertility doctor) DearDR said, “Do you want to try for another baby?”

To which I was quick to respond, “Not right now.” I’m such a wit. Or twit. Your pick.

But it’s had me thinking for a couple of days now.

In truth, I always thought I would have three children. Technically speaking I did have three children, of course, but I thought I would be raising three children.

I don’t know why three. My mother had three children (really three, not three with an asterisk like me). I mean, I have never made plans according to what my mother did (as she can well tell you), so I doubt that’s it. (Although, as the third aside in this paragraph alone, I will admit I am turning into her. That’s to pre-empt DearDR from pointing it out later, if he ever reads this.)

Another truth is: I really want another boy. I mentioned this in my Crazy Eights post. And I know DearDR brought it up because he, too, wants another boy. It’s a guy thing. Especially an Italian guy thing. Although it turns out, we are firmly in the majority in preferring a boy over a girl (in a future pregnancy; I wouldn’t trade my girls for anything…). For completely different reasons than those listed in that article. (I know in part DearDR wants a boy to carry on the family name. He’s the last shot.)

I don’t want a boy for him, though, I want a boy for me. Because (rumor has it) mothers and sons have a completely different relationship than mothers and daughters. More akin to the father-daughter dynamic.

As a first-hand witness to my mother’s relationship with my brother, and comparing said relationship to my relationship with my mother, yeah, I get that. He was special to her — not more loved by her — it’s just that there was truly something different about their dynamic. It was more peaceful, maybe… more hopeful. It’s hard to describe. Suffice to say that I remember being on the outside and looking in at my mother’s relationship with my brother, and thinking, “I want that at some point in my life.” (Not the relationship with my mother; a relationship with a son.)

To clarify: I did not have a bad relationship with my mother (with either of my parents). As a teen, I butted heads with my father — we were each as stubborn as the other. In my early 20s, after Mom saw my tattoo, she did threaten (in writing, in a letter about three days later) to never speak to me again, because of, and I quote, “the things you have done to and with your body”. Which, to sum up in my mother’s eyes, included piercing my lip, losing my virginity, smoking, and getting a tattoo (not necessarily in that order). I’m not sure she knew about the birth control pills.

Anyhoo, I have gotten way off track here.

To attempt to return to the subject and in the spirit of High Fidelity (the movie with John Cusack, not the book by Nick Hornby; I haven’t read it yet, and I just caught some of the movie today), here are the Top Five Reasons to Immediately Have My Tubes Tied:

5. I have very stressful pregnancies. Der.
4. Every child I have seems to put my writing career further out of my reach.
3. As if it’s not bad enough, I’m sure another child would be financial suicide.
2. I’m pretty sure my perinatologists’ reactions would be, “You again? What are you, out of your mind?”
1. I’m almost sure my midwives would kill me.

(I would never, ever have my tubes tied, for the record. DearDR’s not getting snipped, either.)

Plus, what if I have another girl? I mean, I wouldn’t care, as long as she was healthy and happy and all that, but poor DearDR. I don’t think he would be able to handle the hormones, especially once they hit puberty and I hit menopause.

Top Five Reasons to Try One More Time:

5. It’s a baby!
4. It would totally mess with my in-laws.
3. It’s actually possible it will be a boy. I thought it was more likely that older moms had girls, but not according to this article. She adds, “(Actually, there is about a 51% chance that everyone will have a boy! Older mothers are also more likely to have boys according to some recent studies.)” I wish she had linked to those studies!
2. I just don’t feel like we’re done. Even after Bun was born, I didn’t have the feeling, “That’s it; we’re done.” More like, “Oh, good. She’s here; she made it. Maybe when I get over this, I’ll think about having another one. It’d be nice to have a healthy, living baby boy.”
1. We would have an excuse to have lots and lots of sex.

Listen, people, not having sex as a method of birth control is fool proof, but frankly, it sucks. And technically, NFP isn’t NO sex, but it’s so… rigid about when to avoid sex if you don’t want to be pregnant that it feels that way sometimes. Especially when we’re horny at the same time (DearDR, it probably goes without saying, is horny almost all the time) and/or I want to feel close to my husband.

Also… well, let’s just say, I was no virgin when I got hitched. But, baby, I saved the best for last.

4 thoughts on “…Baby, One More Time?

  1. Awwwwww…you do what your heart tells you to do, not what your perinatologists tell you. Mine would have said the same, and my RE sincerely questioned why we kept trying when we were 1-for-7 in the live-children-to-pregnancies category. As my RE once said, medicine is more of an art than a science most of the time.

    Also, when we finally did get lucky on Try 8, I will admit to being mildly disappointed when our Level II U/S showed a boy on the way. What would I do with all those clothes? And what did I know about raising a boy?!? As it turns out, I *do* have a different relationship with my little guy. He’s so much less complicated, so much more loving. And if he follows his daddy’s lead, he’ll grow up to be the best son ever (yeah, another Italian thing!)

    Finally, I wanted to comment on the writing career thing. I’ve changed my thinking on that one, and I’d put kids in the “plus” column (unless you’re talking technical writing, maybe.) As my kids get a little older, I find they inspire me to do better creative work. I learn so much from them, even moreso as they develop their own interests. They think differently than I do, and I love gaining their perspective on life.

    So there, two of your Top Five Reasons to Immediately Have My Tubes Tied have been debunked. Best wishes, wherever your journey takes you!

  2. This was sent via my email, and my friend — my oldest best friend — said I could put it here:

    “ok. Can’t quite figure out how to respond to your blog VIA your blog. Resorting to regular email.

    First, LOVED seeing you at Christmas. Thanks you so much for driving to Erie for our dinner (I am sure you were coming to visit with your family, but I like to think it was to see me!).

    Second, you make me laugh. Your entry for today was entirely hilarious. Probably because it was an echo of my own baby thoughts. Don’t know if I want to do it again but… I don’t know. I would need to get a bigger car.

    Third, I would like to visit again. Without my sister and her entourage — although entertaining — not a part of my conversation wavelength. I know it is impossible to find time but I will be in Chautauqua this summer for at least a couple of weeks. OR, if I can talk Big B into it, a day trip to the ‘burgh would be fun. OR, you could come visit me 🙂

    At any rate, thanks for your humor. I miss it and you!

    N”

Leave a comment