Meatless Monday: Twitter Recipes

It struck me yesterday, as I was making Indian food for Dan’s birthday dinner, that as of late, I get most of my recipes from people and blogs I follow on Twitter.

I’ll just throw something out there, like, “I need new cabbage recipes” or “Really in the mood for chocolate chocolate chip cookies”, and I’ll get up to 10 links in response to recipes that other people like.

It’s pretty awesome.

Here are two recipes that I made this weekend that came to me via Twitter folks.

Tarka Dal
@hntrpyanfar by way of @mattieflap, my tweaks noted

2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 large onion, chopped (~1c) (I didn’t use onions. Dan hates cooked onions.)
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1.5 TB good garam masala or curry powder 
1 TB cumin
Two skinny carrots, diced (my addition)
3/4 cup lentils (1/4 cup red, 1/2 cup green)
1 15 oz. can kidney beans (my addition), drained and rinsed
2 cup water 
Bit of fresh ginger, scraped with spoon and chopped, or 1/4 tsp pwdered ginger
15 oz. can diced tomatoes

Rinse and pick through the lentils.

Heat olive oil and melt butter; add onion and saute until clear. Add garlic and saute for one or two minutes. Add garam masala and cumin and heat for a minute. Add carrots, lentils, tomatoes, water (I used 1 cup vegetarian stock, 1 cup water).

Heat to boiling, then simmer covered about 20 minutes.  [Cari likes to use the immersion blender on them so you have a smooth puree.]

I served this over brown rice, with store-bought samosas and na’an. I need a good recipe for chutney now, because samosas cry out for chutney!

++

Mocha Brownie Cookies
@karebear00738

2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/4 cup sour cream (I used plain yogurt)
2 tablespoons coffee
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in one bowl.

In another bowl, beat together sugar, brown sugar, butter, sour cream (or yogurt) until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition until batter is light and fluffy.

Gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture, beating at low speed until juts blended. Beat at medium speed 1 minute or until well blended. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto a parchment-paper-lined cookie sheet. Bake 9-11 minutes, or until slight imprint remains when pressed with finger. Cool on cookie sheets 3 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

As per Karen, these are very brownie-like cookies, soft rather than crisp. Since I haven’t tackled baking a cake yet, these were Dan’s birthday cookies. The rest of us liked them too!

Leave a Reply

