Back to the Dentist, Again

I’m finally doing something about my front tooth.

Today I go back to the dentist for a permanent crown. I don’t really want to go — the procedure hurts, to be quite frank, after the novacaine wears off. And, let’s face it, getting novacaine is no picnic, either. #understatement

But getting my tooth fixed? I can’t overstate how great that is, how much of a difference it makes. And as I’m going to be talking in front of a bunch of people for several hours on Saturday, it’s one less thing for me to worry about.

I’d still like to get my hands on a whiskey milkshake for dinner, though.

Tooth Before:

Tooth with Temporary Crown:

Still to come: Tooth with Permanent Crown. Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “Back to the Dentist, Again

  1. I’m so happy for you; it will totally be worth it. I know… I’ve been there. You’ll actually have to remind yourself that you can smile with your lips open again. It’s quite liberating!

    Nothing wrong with the whiskey milkshake after the novacaine wears off, either. Just let it lay up around the area. Best case, it numbs it up a bit. Worst case, you won’t care.

  2. I have to have this done eventually. A couple years ago I casually mentioned to the dentist that my tooth was a little yellow. The exam..and then a trip to the endodontist….revealed somehow, someway…my root has disappeared in that tooth (no trauma, nothing). Joy.
    They aren’t in a hurry to do anything since it isn’t actually bothering me….but the yellow is beginning to deepen…I have been thinking of whitening my teeth-but fear THAT tooth won’t whiten…so there is the dilemma to just have the inevitable done now–or wait.
    Of course, it isn’t covered at all-in any way-by my crappy insurance. So

    • You should ask your dentist about the whitening. I would think it would work on the rootless tooth. It wouldn’t have worked on mine because it wasn’t real enamel. (Still isn’t I guess.)

      Good luck. It sucks to be self-conscious about something so fundamental as one’s smile!

  3. I wish you the very best of luck. I am excited for you (not the pain part, of course).

    I chipped my front tooth in half on a water slide when I was 9 or 10. The first replacement I had turned yellow, which resulted in my being made fun of since it was only the bottom half of my tooth. The next two crowns I got had some issues. Finally, 20 years ago this fall, a different dentist did a porcelain crown, and when he was done, I cried. It was that good. He told me I would probably get 10 years out of it, and it has been showing signs of wear the last three, but since that dentist is out of the area now and my dental insurance is crappy, I cannot bring myself to do it.

    Enjoy the whiskey milkshake (or better yet, maybe you won’t even need it).

Leave a Reply

