Progress Report

It’s been a month or so since I made Focus my word of the year, and frankly, I’m not very impressed with myself.

Here it is Wednesday, and this is my first post this week.

Also, I’ve started this post four times now. Over two days.

Maybe Flora and my husband are not the only ones with attention deficit issues.

Anyhoo, it’s already over a month since I wrote my über-list. I haven’t started on the big projects yet (which is fine), but I have managed to start incorporating a couple of little things.

I am having more fun as a mother. Mileage varies. But when I focus on how I want to respond to my kids, I can generally steer away from frustration, exasperation, or yelling. I can channel energy into something that will make us all laugh, or find a way to make a chore less onerous (a big one: timed cleaning contests!). It’s far less stressful, even when things need to happen (cleaning, time outs, homework, practice).

Yes, I still yell, and yes, I still get annoyed. But already less so than I used to.

I am behind on my non-fiction reading. In one improvement, though, I am trying to make visits to the library a weekly or semi-monthly event. I need to print out the list of non-fiction suggestions, and start requesting those. Although my next non-fiction book should be about dealing with a fractious middle child. Kate and I are currently locked in a vicious cycle of “even negative attention is attention”. Hence, yelling. I may need help on this one.

Exercise continues to prove challenging due to time constraints. I walk a little more, and the kids and I can rock the kitchen dance party. I really need to find a way to tone some muscles and have a routine. The never-ending challenge.

I have also done well getting more fruits and vegetables. Which sounds somewhat ridiculous maybe — I’m a flipping vegetarian who gets a farm share (when it’s active). But I got lazy about salads, and about prepping vegetables in general, and I was hardly eating any fruit (winter is lousy for produce in my part of the world). I’ve been getting better, though, making salads more often, steaming beans and/or broccoli (Kate has rediscovered her love for broccoli), and eating apples and oranges. And raw carrots with hummus. So, yeah.

Still, lots of work to do, lots of habits to continue to develop. I’ve also done badly with Lent — I’ve read a few Slate articles, and played around in the comments. Although instead of wasting hours away, I only waste minutes, like 15 at a time. I consider that an improvement.

What are you doing well these days?

3 thoughts on “Progress Report

  1. I feel ya! I am so behind have t even figured out my word yet!! And when you find a book that can help you, yea let me know please. My oldest (6) is so much like me we butt heads a lot. I am working on the yelling and frustration too. Hang in there!

    • It’s interesting because my oldest is so much like me that I “get” her. I know what she needs. But Kate is sometimes beyond me, or I say the wrong thing at the wrong time, only I don’t realize it until the damage is done so to speak. My next post has some good suggestions!

  2. So i was web surfing late one night and found your site. (hopefully this isnt too weird.) Longterm follower first time poster: i have been drawing educational notes and encouraging kids in the classroom to draw. Like, why not have a funny dead f ace next to latin? Please let it be dead not dormant.
    I know what you have is a challenge but isnt that the challenge of allowing love to mature? Grace means you can see the beauty of not only your own cracked vase but all those that sorround you.
    When ever my day seems too much, I listen to Toby Mac’s steal my show. This song is about god being able to take everything I own away for gods own good. When i have children, there will probably be a litigious child just waiting to fight with me. Ugh! But the hugs and knowing that she or he is safe will be worth it! And knowing god has a plan for that child to bring the spirit of love to this mysterious challenging world. I dream for understanding, but i understand how difficult that is.

Leave a Reply

