Project: Food Budget, Week 6

Project: Food Budget

Aldi = $52.51
Giant Eagle = $14.95
Cash Market = $10.43

No farmers market because it was 4th of July. All-in-all we didn’t spend much this week. I am busy using stuff in the freezer and making sure leftovers get incorporated into meals. I am going to try to stock up this coming weekend, so look for spend to increase to what the original budget was.

Saturday: I picked up some devil’s food cake mix and baked red, white, and blue cupcakes (added nearly two cups of berries, straw- and blue-, subtracted an egg), then frosted them with red, white, and blue buttercream. Dinner was burgers, vegetarian baked beans, green beans, and baked potatoes. Could we have been more American??

Sunday: The big meal Sunday was brunch. Dan did most of the cooking, because brunch is his thing. He made pancakes, eggs to order, sausage and bacon; I made vegetarian sausage and coffee. We had fruit as well: cherries, blueberries, and watermelon. Dan’s family was over: his parents, and his uncle, aunt, and cousin. It was really nice! The rest of the day was leftovers.

The girls acted as servers at brunch. They made sure everyone had drinks, took orders for eggs, delivered food to the table, and were generally sweet and entertaining. Flora gave me a bill for $5.50; Kate gave Dan’s uncle a bill for $100 million.

Monday: gnocchi and salad; chicken for my omnivores
Tuesday: Indian (rice, naan, chana masala)
Wednesday: ramen noodles and tofu
Thursday: brinner (French toast, sausage, eggs)
Friday: pizza

Next Saturday we have a birthday party to go to, and Sunday I am out for girls’ night — Magic Mike XXL, here I come! I guess I should feed my family Sunday before I bail on them to look at abs.

Go see how everyone else did.

Emily Levenson
McGinnis and Bean
Seeking White Space
facepalmmama
Gardening in High Heels
Melissa Firman
Copy & Post
Rachel Olive Miller
Shea Lennon

4 thoughts on “Project: Food Budget, Week 6

  1. You’re the second person who’s planning Brinner this week. I think it’s a sign that I need to do it, too. Also, I love the brunch bills from your daughters. So cute!

  2. Hi! I’m new to Project Food Budget this week. I did it a few years ago and loved it! I’m excited to be back on board. Ooh…gnocchi! Good idea. I might have to add that to my Meatless Monday next week. I look forward to reading more from you.

    • I only recently discovered that my two older children LOVE gnocchi. My son still won’t eat it, but he’s only 4, so he’ll come around. We buy it at the farmers market right now, a local guy… the name is escaping me right now. Fontelli’s maybe? Very high quality, super local, pricier than what you’ll get in your grocery freezer, but worth it in my opinion.

      I love this project of emily’s! It’s really good to check in with spending and meal planning, and see where you can change or do better. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

