Random Thoughts: The This is Bullshit Edition

1. I am hardly reading books at all right now. I don’t know what’s going on. I’m in the middle of a non-fiction book that is super interesting, Hellhound on His Trail. I get sucked in every time I pick it up. I only pick it up about once a week.

Hellhound on His Trail by Hampton Sides.
Good, non-fiction book that I am not reading.

I did plow through Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers, both by Stephen King, on the Chicago road trip. Good summer books, although Mr. King could really use an editor with some backbone. I don’t think Advil was available as a brand in the 1970s, and one cannot turn off a cell phone, and then pick it up and speed dial someone. Just little things. Didn’t make me regret reading!

I also picked up Life of Pi, which is a beautiful book. And I’m just not perusing.

2. I attribute this lack of reading to dropping and breaking my Kindle. I am a victim of my own clumsiness and carelessness. Do you have any idea how easy it is to get library books on the Kindle? SUPER EASY. It makes going to the library to actually pick up books seem like a trip to the moon. (Hyperbole much, RPM?) Plus, I never have late fees anymore! The book just disappears off the device.

I miss reading. Twittering and Facebooking my way through an evening isn’t satisfying or good for my blood pressure. Dan and I have been watching movies and TV shows via Netflix (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt). Highly entertaining, highly comedic, not inspiring deep thoughts.

I can feel my brain turning to oatmeal.

Give me some books I can request from the library. I promise I’ll go tomorrow. It’s supposed to rain all day anyway, isn’t it?

3. I seem to be accidentally raising a racist kid. He won’t go near brown people — I’m not even exaggerating. We were at the dentist office yesterday, and he had to go to the bathroom. When we got back, a little Indian boy was playing with dominoes in the playroom.

Michael didn’t want to go in the room. He told me he doesn’t like the color brown.

I pointed out that nothing was wrong with having brown skin. He insists that it’s not about brown skin; he just doesn’t like the *color* brown. He likes blue and green. I then pointed out that people don’t come in blue and green; they come in white and pink and brown and yellow.

I need to meet new people.

4. The idiots on Twitter who think @SCOTUSblog is the actual Twitter account of the Supreme Court of the United States.

5. I shouldn’t let Dan go to the State store or the grocery store by himself. Though, I have had a thirst for some bourbon lately.

bourbon and potatoes
Holy packaging, Batman. And that is the biggest bottle of bourbon I’ve ever seen.

What is your favorite bourbon cocktail?

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts: The This is Bullshit Edition

  1. My favorite bourbon cocktail is with hot cider and a splash of Oregon. Chai mix. Very warming.of course, now that it is 100 degrees in the shade, I want lots of ice and a splash of ginger beer.

Leave a Reply

