Day 14: I am Thankful for First World Problems

Today I am cranky.

The things I am cranky about are, with perspective, minor things. However, they are my problems today, and I will feel cranky about them if I want to.

I got a new computer at my job, and it’s an adjustment learning how to navigate the upgrades. However, I’m thankful to have a job.

I had to park in a different lot at work, and I’m probably going to forget, and walk out the wrong door. However, I am thankful to have a car.

I look nice today, and no one’s given me a compliment. Seriously, this is the most shallow complaint you will read all day today. I have on a tan and black sweater dress, opaque burgundy tights, ankle boots, and I look *good*. Stylish, even.

I don’t know, maybe you can’t give compliments in the workplace anymore.

Conversely, maybe I don’t look as good as I think.

However, I am thankful to have these clothes. And they are clean. And my boots were fixed by a shoe maker, so I didn’t have to go buy a new pair.

I am thankful that if I needed to, I could actually go buy a new pair.

I am anxious because I have a lot of work to do, and I have to leave work early to take my 9-year-old to her well-child visit. I am thankful I have a 9-year-old. And health insurance that covers well-child visits.

My younger daughter will be getting the flu vaccine (the mist) at the same time. She is going to be whiny about it. However, I am thankful I have an almost-7-year-old. And that my pediatrician’s office offers the mist. I won’t have to fight with them about shots.

I am thankful that my children are healthy enough to be immunized.

And you know what? Today is Pie Day, and I should just get over myself, because I am going to have dinner, wine, and pie with people I like!

On that note: What are your little problems today?

6 thoughts on “Day 14: I am Thankful for First World Problems

  1. You’re probably SOL on having anyone telling you that you look nice, at work, at least from men, anyway. We’ve had it beaten into our heads that such pleasantries are one step from a visit to HR and a harassment suit. While I may think someone looks particularly nice one day, I keep my yap shut unless I have a solid, outside-work relationship with her.

  2. I am thankful for eshakti.com, which not only makes dresses that look good on 1940’s style figures, but will actually make them to your measurements for an extra $7.50. I would look like the stay-puf marshmallow man in a sweater dress of any color, even after losing a prodigious amount. You normally look pretty darn good anyway from what I’ve seen.
    Oh, and if anyone looks good,smells good or whatever else I tell them; the world is far too free with negative comments and far too short with the positive ones.

Leave a Reply

