Achievement Unlocked: 30-Day Shred, Level 1

I’ve been intending to get back into shape for years.

I think I’ve finally done it. Which just means I have to keep going.

This is how I know I am in shape again: I can do Level 1 of Jillian Michael’s 30-day Shred without wanting to die.

I bought the 30-Day Shred DVD about a year after it came out, I think. It was getting rave reviews, and people were bitching about it but admitting it worked.

I only had two children at the time, just to give you a hint how long ago that was.

I couldn’t even make it to the second set of jumping jacks. I mean, I was in pathetic shape.

It’s unfair of me to talk about this, I know. When people talk about exercise, a lot of the time they are also talking about losing weight.

I don’t need to lose weight. I do, however, need to be in shape.

After a couple of particularly needful visits to my chiropractor, I finally started poking around on my On Demand cable channels to see if they had short workouts I could benefit from.

I am lazy, people. I don’t want to get up at 5 a.m. to run five miles. I don’t want to get up at 6 a.m. to workout for an hour.

I was looking for workouts that were 10 to 20 minutes long, low impact, and focused on my core. I was looking particularly for Pilates workouts. I found a couple of good ones, and rediscovered one on a Shape DVD I had. The goddess pose on that one killed my quads.

I started out one morning a week. Because that’s all I could manage as far as getting up early. I stumbled onto certain workouts that I liked — they were quick, effective, and low impact. As the weather got better, I started walking with the kids in the evenings.

Then I started getting up early twice a week. I found a cardio quickie workout that was intense cardio in 10 minutes. The first time I did it, I was gasping after 5 minutes. But about two weeks later, I realized that I could do it, and do the accompanying 10-minute strength workout. Not only did I not feel like I was going to die, I felt good. Exercise was a good way to start my day.

And then I started doing yoga in the evenings with the girls.

Now, two things about yoga: First, we only do it twice a week. Second, I didn’t think I liked yoga. Pilates made me feel less crunchy granola and more like I was doing exercise. Yoga (or so I thought) was all about breathing and meditation, stress relief, relaxation. Which, it is to a certain extent. But, again, with some exploration, I’ve found a couple of routines that don’t bug me, and that the kids can do with me. And they help strengthen and stretch my muscles, which are sorely in need of it. When I workout in the morning, and then sit the majority of the day (stupid job), I pay for it.

On Monday, I found the 30-Day Shred DVD. I popped it in the player.

And I did the Level 1 workout. Yeah, it was some work, and yeah, my quads were pissy about it the rest of the day. But I didn’t die. I didn’t even feel like I was going to die.

Of course, this means I’m going to have to do Level 2. Right?

What achievement have you unlocked lately?

11 thoughts on “Achievement Unlocked: 30-Day Shred, Level 1

  1. Ack. I was on Week 6 of Couch to 5K. I was down 18 lbs. Then I tweaked/sprained/effed up my knee. It wasn’t so much painful as it was unstable and felt like it was going to buckle at any moment. I’m giving it one week off. I bought a brace. Hopefully next week I can jump back on the torture train.

    • Yup. One reason I went with low impact was because I knew if I got hurt, it would derail the little progress I’ve made. I loved running when I did it, but it’s too hard on my back, especially. Pilates, yoga, and the short intense cardio are really doing it for me.

      Good luck to you getting back out there!

  2. Hey, go you! That’s awesome πŸ™‚ As much as I hate to admit it, I always feel better when I’m in decent shape. But getting there is HARD. I’m also going the route of quick, intense workouts right now (that’s really all I can fit in & it’s better than nothing!! Ha) Great job, lady. 30 Day Shred is no joke.

    • The short, intense workouts WORK, though! I was shocked when I could do the Level 1 shred. It’s not like I joined a gym or started spending hours working out. Small changes have made a huge difference for me. I’m glad I took those little steps. I feel so much better!

  3. My achievement has nothing to do with exercise- I managed to outfit both of my kids in clothing and shoes for almost no money, with the added bonus of outfitting Michael all winter, plus 3 other kids PLUS spending much needed time with some girlfriends via the clothing swap. BAM! πŸ˜‰

    • BEST. ACHIEVEMENT. EVER.

      Seriously, I do not have to buy a stitch of clothing for M this fall or winter. You have done a good service, my friend! AND the spiced wine was very yummy. Teach me how to make that!

  4. I am so proud of you! It feels good; since I have lost the weight I have been able to walk further than I have in years. When I was able to walk around Mt. Rushmore this year for the first time (it was tiring and sore, and I hurt afterward, but I did it) I felt like crying with happiness.

Leave a Reply

