Random Thoughts: The It Was Good for Me Edition

On Wednesday, I did three things that were very good for me.

1. I got up and worked out.

Full disclosure: I only got up because at 6-6:15 a.m., I wasn’t sleeping anyway. Kate had come into our bed about 20 minutes earlier and woke me up. On one hand, I didn’t want to leave my bed. On the other hand, Kate is not a cuddly or quiet sleeping companion. Finally, a few minutes after 6, I realized I would be getting up shortly anyway. May as well try to do something constructive with that time.

More disclosure: I would not rate it as one of my better attempts at working out. I’m still figuring out what is on my On Demand channels. I am looking for Pilates or upper body workouts that are under 30 minutes. I need to up my cardio, too, but for now I think I will try to walk/run more often, especially playing outside with the kids.

The real trick will be to see if I can make this a regular habit.

2. I went to my first therapy appointment.

Now, there’s a lot I can say about this, but I’m just going to highlight a few things.

First, I only cried twice. The first instance I teared up took me off guard. As I said at the time to the therapist (she’s a Licensed Counselor, not a Ph.D.), “And now I’m crying for some reason.” The second instance I had felt coming for a long time and I cried because I was able to finally, finally say something out loud in a safe space. It’s a terrifying admission (and, no, dear readers, I cannot as of yet confess it here), and I got to say it without repercussions. The tears were as much for the terror as for the relief.

Second, I asked about medication more out of curiosity than anything else. Medication would not be my first choice to deal with the things I am dealing with (an “overwhelming life” as one of my close friends put it later), but I wanted to know what the therapist thought. (I am going to have to come up with a name or initial to refer to My Therapist here… MT? LC?)

Paraphrasing: “I usually suggest medication when I don’t hear any hope. You don’t sound hopeless. You’ve described a very happy, full life. You recognize your blessings. You’re just having troubles with some very specific issues.”

I concur.

Third, she asked what I would change about my life, what would make it easier. I answered without hesitation, “Working part time.” So there you go.

We set up another time to meet, and we will probably meet every two weeks for a while. She also gave me homework (a writing assignment!), which I appreciate.

3. I got a haircut and style, for which I was overdue.

Every little bit helps.

++

With all that out of the way: What a week. My most sincere prayers go out to everyone affected by the tragedies in Boston and West, Texas.

What did you do that was good for you this week, readers?

10 thoughts on “Random Thoughts: The It Was Good for Me Edition

  1. 1. Look into doing the Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred. It’s only 20 minutes and hits everything. You can stick with level one as long as you need to until you feel stronger. You can find full workouts on youtube, too.
    2. I’m so happy for you. Therapy rocks. And sometimes we need a little more help than we can get from our spouses.
    3. HOT.

    • 1. Ugh, I have Jilian Michael’s 30 Day shred. Ironically, I think I need to be in a little better shape to do it regularly.
      2. Thank you. I have work to do, which I knew going in. It’s nice to have some direction.
      3. Thank you again. 🙂

  2. Sounds like you had a great day.

    We had a rough week. In addition to the national news and the local news (Massive flooding in Chicago including sinkholes and water geysers, but luckily I live on higher ground) we have some norovirus running its course through the family. One thing I did do that was good for me was locked down Google Analytics for 80 hours. I’d become too obsessed with it, and it was taking the joy out of my writing. (If you are interested, I wrote about my addiction on my blog.)

    Hoping to have some nicer times soon since it is my birthday this weekend.

  3. I’m so, so, so glad for you that therapy was helpful and cathartic.

    I hope that you’ll soon start getting some sleep and getting your appetite back.

  4. Yay for you RPM! So glad to see you taking some time for you! You SO deserve it 🙂

    Having a safe place to say those things you cannot say to anyone else is so important. I hope you start to feel better very soon. (Hugs) !

  5. SO glad you had a good week. You deserve it. And it sounds like you’ve found a very wise and helpful counselor. Plus, what problems can’t be assuaged by a new do? Stylin’!

Leave a Reply

