To Believe in Yourself: Motivation to Get Moving

Today’s post is from Becky Willis, who writes at ‘lil Burghers, and is part of special day of shenanigans from other Pittsburgh Bloggers. Each time I have encountered Becky IRL, she’s had a welcoming smile on her face. She’s married to the incomparable Greg, has two adorable ‘lil Burghers, works full time, and runs. She’s amazing, and I’m glad she was chosen to crash my space for the Spring 2013 Pittsburgh Guest Blogger Event.

You can see my post over on Crank Crank Revolution, where I rant about the tiresome moralizing of (and a couple of other things about) the Berenstain Bears.

++

A little over a year ago, I decided to get a move on and add some exercise to my eating better/attempt to be healthy. I’ll be the first to tell you, this was not easy. Not one bit. But because I believe in myself, I made it work and now am addicted. 

I started off small, doing a 20-minute Bob Harper DVD. It was supposed to be easy. I wanted to die. I didn’t die. 

After a few weeks of working out, I decided to give running a try using the “Couch to 5k” program. Sure, it was a little bit boring at first, but I found 90 seconds of running strenuous, too. It was a weird love/hate relationship. I needed a goal. Then, I got an e-mail that I’d be doing Mud on the Mountain (a 7-mile obstacle run) with my work team, so I knew I needed to get my butt in gear. Two months later, the run was cut from the budget, but I still participated and was glad I did. I met a goal, and felt so much better about myself because I did it. 

A sprained knee/pulled hamstring and a 5k later, I felt like giving up. But I had to keep going and believe in myself. Thanks to Physical Therapy, I was back at it and did the Turkey Trot 5k, a way to earn my Thanksgiving meal. Goals are what keeps me moving! 
 
Currently, I am training for the Pittsburgh Half Marathon. Me, yes me. The woman who works a full-time job and holds mommy guilt like none other — add to that the fact that my husband is a stay-at-home dad and I carry so much guilt about training and leaving him with the kids beyond the work day. The woman who 18 months ago carried around 90 more pounds. But I am motivated. I set a goal and I am sticking to it!

So obviously what works for me is setting goals. And when I meet them? I give myself awards. So far, I’ve earned a new camera, a telescopic lens, two tattoos, and a Kindle Fire. Sure, those things cost money, but I made sure I put the money away because these things were important to pushing me to keep going. My kids are a huge motivator, too. Even though it means I am not spending as much time with them as I would like to, I know I am doing a good thing to guarantee I am around with them for longer. Plus, I am being a good role model for them–they both love to strength train and do yoga with me. 

Everyone is going to have different motivators. It’s not easy to get up early in the morning and go for a run (especially when it’s below freezing). It’s not going to just snap the first time you go out and try to get moving. But the rewards are worth it, you just have to trust me. And yourself.  Believe in yourself! 

++

I need to take her advice! What motivates you?

3 thoughts on “To Believe in Yourself: Motivation to Get Moving

  1. I was talked into doing the fitness challenge at work by one of the secretaries on my unit. I was thinking of it as a donation more or less; I pretty much have the same exercise routine as Professor Xavier, only without the fancy headgear. But i figured as long as I was going to do it, I was going to give it a real try. I started Weight Watchers, and surprisingly enough, it is working. Would it work as well without my cell phone reminding me how many points a peanut butter cup is? I don’t know. But for me, making those goals every day fits my competitive spirit. My husband is constantly checking to find out if I am falling over the edge into obsession, but for now, it’s working out and I’ve lost weight for the first time without being too sick to eat.

  2. I’m at the beginning of this journey (again) and, man, yes, is it hard … especially after three kids and an extra decade to slow my metabolism! Glad to hear you’re on the other side. I’m envisioning a tattoo reward as we speak … 🙂

Leave a Reply

