Random Thoughts: The Who Am I Edition

A few notes from the week thus far:

1. Dan and I finally copped to the fact that we need a new coffee maker. The Mr. Coffee that has served us faithfully for nearly 10 years is… well, I don’t really know what happened. I cleaned it at least annually, and then this year, I probably cleaned it twice within six months, and the coffee still just tasted bad. Indescribably bad.

Thank goodness for VIA.

I put out a query on Twitter, as I am wont to do, regarding a recommendation for a replacement coffee maker.

The response was overwhelming: Twitter recommended I get a French press, maybe two (one for loose tea).

So we will be getting a French press (or two) in the near future, and possibly another Mr. Coffee for when we need to make more than 3-4 cups of coffee at a time.

Thanks, everyone!

++

2. I have been doing so well with the meal schedule that I actually have enough for two nights of (mostly) leftovers, tonight and tomorrow. I need refrigerator space and storage containers! So: cleaning out tonight and tomorrow.

3. One of the secrets to doing well with the meal schedule is cooking in the morning. I usually make pasta Monday morning for that night’s dinner; Tuesday, I get the rice steamer set up, or (as I did yesterday) make something like veggie chili before leaving for work. I had never even contemplated this step in the past.

4. This organization thing is going pretty well (knock on wood). Packing lunches at night, and putting dishes away in the morning, plus prepping some food in the morning is leading to extra time in the evenings. Of course, that means I get to do stuff like go through M’s clothes to update sizes and seasonal wear, or more efficiently take care of paper work, but STILL.

++

5. I added something else to the evening schedule: violin practice. (Related: I may have lost my damn mind, as I told a friend on Twitter yesterday.) I’m starting Flora out with 15 minutes of practice each night (she’s not even playing real songs yet). We’ll see how it goes. We chose violin as a starting instrument because: 1. we don’t have a piano, or room for one at this point; 2. lessons are at school, during school. She’s taking part in group lessons; 3. renting a violin is super, duper easy and not very expensive.

6. The perfect bribe for my children (or, conversely the perfect thing to take away as a consequence): computer time. They watch a lot of YouTube Pokemon videos or play games online (fantage, coolmath). They each get between 20 and 30 minutes at a pop.

++

7. We will be shopping for materials to make the Halloween costumes this weekend.

Yes, I told the girls they could be Pokemon, and, yes, I told them we would make their costumes. Further proof I have lost my damn mind. Rest assured: I am still sane enough to know that SEWING the costumes in out of the question. It will be more a matter of… constructing them.

Michael will be a monkey, in a costume being passed along to me. So that’s all right.

What totally crazy and/or out-of-character things are you doing lately?

9 thoughts on “Random Thoughts: The Who Am I Edition

  1. Did you see that I took 2 young kids to Disney World? That was crazy. (Also fun.)

    Out of character? Well, I went to a conference and actually did quite a lot of networking, which is always odd for an introvert like me.

    As for other things you mentioned…
    I am also in need to rotate sizes for the kids and rotate seasonal wear for kids and adults. Paper has always been a huge problem for me.

    I should probably take on some of your meal planning strategies. To accommodate the boy’s preschool schedule my husband and I no longer commute home from work together. This leaves me at home with the kids making dinner on my own. Yesterday was the first time on the new schedule. Mommy yelled a lot and got a headache. It CAN NOT go that way every night.

    • In reverse order: I totally endorse the meal schedule, and cooking bits in the morning if you can. Also lots of cooking on the weekends for leftovers. Saves your life. All I need to make my life complete is a timer I can hook my slow cooker up to so i can turn it on in the middle of the day and come home to that meal.

      I am doing all I can to hasten to era of the paperless society. No go so far.

      Good for you!

      I did *not* see that you and the kids went to Disney. Where the heck was I? Congrats! And I bet it was a blast. 🙂

  2. It sounds like you’re making a lot of fantastic changes!

    Me? I’m keeping my house clean, keeping up with laundry (I LIKE hanging laundry- who knew?), and I joined match.com. It’s been a fairly fascinating sociological experiment, and has me questioning my sanity.

  3. My youngest is starting violin also, she will have it at school. We are waiting for the violin to arrive, she asks me everyday when it will be here. My oldest plays the flute now.

    • Are you renting the violin? We rented, and I just had to fill out some paperwork and give it to the teacher. He did the legwork! Flora seems very excited, but I hope it lasts.

      • Sorry for the delay, yes we rented it from the school. Makes it so much easier. I know have a violin for my Gianna and a flute for my Savannah. They just love it!

  4. I have managed to keep my desk clean and organized for a whole month. Not only that, I actually took 5 minutes to clean it off before I left Friday so I wouldn’t have to deal with a depressing messy office Monday. If I could only do that with my craft room….

Leave a Reply

