Current Obsession: Pentatonix

Warning: Earworms ahead.

It all started with a story on NPR. I got chills listening to this young quintet. I also thought Kate would dig them.

I’ve never watched The Sing-Off (or The Voice or American Idol), so if not for this story, I would’ve totally missed them.

And now I can’t get them out of my head. Both my girls are totally hooked as well. The Pentatonix versions of “Video Killed the Radio Star” and “Dog Days are Over” are on heavy rotation in my house.

I really need two things to happen: Season 3 of The Sing-Off to come out on DVD or Blu-Ray and Pentatonix to release their CD. Album. Whatever. Get on my iPod!

I had to explain what “Video Killed the Radio Star” was about. That was fun.

Get off my lawn.

++

As an aside: I love the judges on this show. I have no idea who Sara Bareilles is, but she seems very sweet. Ben Folds cracks me up. And Shawn Stockman is so sincere and enthusiastic. The absence of snark is refreshing.

I seem to be having an issue with snark lately. Hm. Will have to come back to that.

++

As another earworm for all y’all: Ever think “Smells Like Teen Spirit” needed to be done with a ukulele?

I present my extremely talented cousin, Dana:

She also does an excellent cover of Lady Gaga’s “Paparazzi”. Check her out!

What’s your current musical obsession?

6 thoughts on “Current Obsession: Pentatonix

  1. Currently on repeat on my iPod: “You and I” Lady Gaga, and “Head Full of Doubt” Avett Brothers.
    We watched that last season of The Sing-Off and Pentatonix was our consistent fave. I am so glad you found them!

    • I went and checked out the link you left on Facebook, plus a couple things on YouTube, and I honestly do not recognize the songs. I live in a weird pop/punk music bubble. Discovering new stuff for me is very hit or miss lately. First impression: seems like a pop mold of Regina Spektor/Tori Amos. I think I like them better. 😉

  2. Hello! Just checking up on things Pentatonix was innovative and The Sing Off was alot of fun this season. I do check out a few of the singing comp shows. My current ear candy is Florence & the Machine (original Dog Days are Over). Her voice is powerful. Been more into the singer song writer genre of late and really enjoy Ingrid Michaelson’s quirkiness. Also, Fleet Foxes from Seattle.
    Take care, Jeannette

Leave a Reply

