Project: Food Budget, Week 20

Food Budget Piggybank

This week, we spent a little bit on groceries (about $11) and a bit at Costco (about $32).

Remaining in the budget for February:
Groceries: $459.00
Costco: $92.92
CSA: $34 (that will go away tonight)
Eating out: All ready blown.

I didn’t mean to add to the eating out total for February, but I had dental work yesterday that left me unable to chew anything harder than soup (I had to call restaurants around my office to find a vegetarian soup) and a Wendy’s milkshake.

Things are rolling right along! I wrote on Monday about menus, and I stand by the point I was trying to make. Having a menu leads to having a reliable list, which leads to spending better and cooking more. And cooking more is healthier and cheaper!

Let’s see how everyone else did! There are some new “faces” this week, too, so welcome them to the fold.

* Emily Levenson
* Dairy-Free Cooking
* Test Kitchen Tuesday
* Acquired Tastes
* Fit Flexitarian
* Warm As Pie
* Katy Rank Lev
* My Inner Healthy
* Little Blue Hen
* xox, b
* Project Food Budget 2.0
* Fresh…A New Chapter
* Chandeleah
* Two Eggs Over Easy
* That’s Just Me
* Eat Whole Be Vital
* Four Happy Violets
* Naturally {Un}refined
* Pgh Dad
* yogabeautylife
* What da Health?
* Twice the Twinsanity

3 thoughts on “Project: Food Budget, Week 20

  1. sorry about your tooth.

    I agree about making menus. I have found it has helped me immensely too! I try to keep to specific menu ideas for the week, but it’s also flexible if I want to switch around a day or two.

    • eh, the tooth is my own fault. I avoided dentists for years. I really hate going. But as I am trying to encourage my children to be healthy, I can’t go skipping the dentist anymore without feeling like a hypocrite. My dentist and all the people who work there are fantastic. Although I still hate going, because then I’m in pain.

      I had the same menu ideas all the time. I like some of the changes I’ve been able to bring to the table (punny!) because of this project. 🙂

      • haha, you sound like me. I have had great teeth most of my life, and kept putting off the dentist in the past 18 months, I just went a few weeks ago, and ugh. 2 fillings. They’ve already filed it down, but the “bite” still doesn’t seem right and I have pain/pressure sometimes when I eat. I am going back Monday. But yes, the office and staff is thankfully wonderful.

        But even with insurance, ugh, the bills are not fun! Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

