Project: Food Budget Week 14

Food Budget Piggybank

I cooked a ton for New Year’s Day — and I loved it. We went a little over the grocery budget, $254.21 versus $200. I made butternut squash and apple soup, extra creamy mashed potatoes, Tofurkey kielbasa with sauerkraut (from my CSA — SO GOOD I HAVE TO SHOUT!), and cookies. Eating out, Dan spent $49.25. He’s got to get back on plan.

This week brings a CSA box full of goodies: $34; a birthday party for my soon-to-be 5-year-old (entertainment budget); and various and sundry running around. Looking ahead, I’ll probably have to send Dan to the grocery store at least once. I need to see what I have and plan a menu accordingly. I should be able to keep the total under $100, depending on the CSA box.

I’ll be posting a couple New Year’s Day recipes over the next couple of weeks, but for the meantime: Kate and I made chocolate chip cookies. Only instead of the usual recipe on the back of a package of Nestle Tollhouse chips, I made two minor substitutions: dark chocolate chips (instead of milk or semi-sweet) and dried cherries (instead of the optional cup of nuts). Now that’s a grown up chocolate chip cookie!

Happy New Year and let’s see how everyone else did!

* Emily Levenson
* Dairy-Free Cooking
* Test Kitchen Tuesday
* Acquired Tastes
* Fit Flexitarian
* Warm As Pie
* Katy Rank Lev
* My Inner Healthy
* Little Blue Hen
* xox, b
* What da Health?
* Project Food Budget 2.0
* A Nice Heart and a White Suit
* Fresh…A New Chapter
* Chandeleah
* Two Eggs Over Easy
* That’s Just Me
* Eat Whole Be Vital
* Four Happy Violets
* Naturally {Un}refined
* Pgh Dad
* yogabeautylife

8 thoughts on “Project: Food Budget Week 14

  1. I had sauerkraut on my grocery list this week, but I decided to wait, since it was $5 a jar. I would love to make it myself, but I just don’t have the patience and courage 😛
    Yum! How interesting you got it in your CSA box!
    Good luck on next week’s budget!

    • I *think* sauerkraut is fairly simple to make. It’s cabbage, no? I bet you could find a slow-cooker recipe. Shred cabbage, add water, slow cook it. As a matter of fact, I’m going to go looking!

      My farm (CSA) is **awesome**. If anyone in the Pgh area is ever looking to join one, I recommend it.

  2. Yeah, that’s what makes it so intimidating! It needs to ferment for like days and days. I read about skimming the “foam” off the top and that scares me!!! Someday though I might try it! When I’m brave! 😛

  3. I am so craving sauerkraut now. (And SO pregnant, so I’ll be picking up some shortly and serving it on rye with some seitan. Here goes 20 or so dollars on a craving!) Haha. PS. Happy New Year! And happy birthday to your kiddo!!! 🙂

  4. I used to love having a CSA, but mine went downhill and I finally cancelled. The surprise of what is coming in the box is half the fun!

    If you figure out how to get your husband to the store and back with only what you need, that will be success! I haven’t really succeeded at that part yet, so I stick to shopping either by myself or with him with me…

    Happy New Year!

    • My CSA amazes me every week, and the fact that they do winter boxes makes me so, so happy. The quality and taste of the produce is simply so much better than grocery store produce!

      I send my husband with a very specific list, separated by department, and with brand names included. He’s a good shopper, and he loves to go at night (to our 24-hour market district). He’s saving our butts because I pretty much work 40 hours a week and run around with the kids! (as well as cook, clean, bath the babes, etc.)

Leave a Reply

