Year in Review: 2011

I have been wracking my brain for some amazing highlights to mention in a year-end post.

And I got nothing.

It’s just kinda been a year, you know?

In January, I turned 40.

In February, Dan and I closed on the property where he has his psychology practice, which is a pretty big deal I guess. I’m incredibly proud of my husband — his career development has been a big highlight of our year. It’s just not *mine* per se. (I didn’t even blog about it!)

I went back to work in February, full time, and I’m still bitching about it. People say, “I don’t know how you do it.” (Some people say, “Suck it up, buttercup!”)

Trust me, I’m not.

Flora started a new school in September.

I did the PodCamp thing! Maybe a little too much.

My sister got married in October, and Flora was the flower girl. I was the Best Woman, and I gave a nice toast.

I started a new blogging — sorry, online writing project.

In general, the kids have been all right (I think).

Michael hit his milestones. Then, a little more than a week ago, he had ear tube surgery. So far, so good.

In lieu of an end-of-the-year post, here’s an idea (that I am stealing): a guiding word for the new year.

My word for 2012 is going to be “change”. I have to figure out what needs to change in my life, how to change it, and then go. I don’t need big upheavals, but I need better balance. I need more things for me to sustain me. My children need me to make some changes to benefit them.

If you had a rough 2011 (and gauging by my Twitter stream, some of you sure did), I hope that 2012 is better. Even if you had a good 2011, I hope 2012 is better. And if, like me, you just kind of had a year, well, maybe a little change up will do you some good, too.

What’s your 2012 word?

10 thoughts on “Year in Review: 2011

  1. Happy New Year, RPM!! I think my word for 2012 is “well-being.” Like paying more attention to my own, and doing more to sustain myself. Like exercise, yoga, and eating better. And spending more time reading! My body has started feeling old this past year and I don’t like it at all! The challenge, of course will be finding the time, planning, and then sticking to the plan…I am sure you can relate!

    I wish you and your family many blessings in the new year!!

  2. One of my words is gratitude. I get so caught up in the daily drama of a chronic illness and having to schedule my life around it, and forget to be grateful that I have a husband who is supportive and doesn’t mind doing most of the cooking and cleaning. I have a job that didn’t fire me when I couldn’t walk in anymore because I was blessed with a college education and a union job.

    • Add to that health insurance so I can pay for the treatment and mess, and living in a country with so much food abundance that I can usually find something to eat and the money to pay for it, who am I to complain? Well, I’m still going to, but I’ll try to balance it out a little better.
      Sorry for the two posts; smart phones aren’t always the most easy to manipulate on long texts.-

      • I like the idea of gratitude in general. No matter how tough things are, there really are little blessings that sustain us, as well as benefits like a good job with good health care. Many hugs, and Happy New Year!

  3. I like the word idea. Is there a single word for “thinking before you speak so you don’t say something stupid or hurtful”? I am not sure “pause” or “reflect” covers it. Whatever it is, that should be my word.

    Happy 2012!

  4. […] Changes need to happen in my life, and changing up my childcare arrangements to accommodate me better was supposed to be a little boost in the direction I want my life — and my time — to go. It’s fallen through, and my disappointment is keen. […]

Leave a Reply

