Santa Conundrum No. 1: The Letter

The following is the letter that Flora dictated to her Tadone (my FIL). I saw it for the first time last Thursday. I didn’t change any of the spelling or phrasing.

Santa Clause
North Pole, U.S.A.

Dear Santa Clause,

I know you are very busy working on toys for all the good children of the world.

I have be a pretty good girl this year and I would like to ask you if you would bring me some Christmas gifts this year.

1. May I please have a Barbie doll this year.
2. May I also have a fidget too.
3. And, do you have enough room in your bag for a “Rock Star Set”?
4. And for the most special Christmas Gift you could give me this year is a Small doggie, that is puppish and kind of grown-uppie.
Santa if you send me these gifts this year I will forever love and I promise to be a good girl for Mommy and Daddy.
Thank you very much,
Flora Maria Mangine

++

Yes, I cried after reading it. #softie

I have no idea what a “fidget” or a “Rock Star Set” is.

The girls are each getting a bicycle and a board game. In addition, Flora is getting a book and Kate is getting a DVD. The bicycles plus their stocking stuffers are their Santa gifts.

I am wondering if there is going to be fallout for not getting anything on this list. I am also wondering (and talking with Dan about) how to handle said fallout. If any.

I have allowed (?) my children to believe in Santa, obviously. I like the magic of Santa, I always have, even when I realized Santa, the red-suited Christmas Eve miracle worker, doesn’t exist as such. And I don’t really recall that Santa has brought specifically requested gifts in the past, but it probably didn’t matter because 1. This is Flora’s first actual letter to Santa and 2. They were probably too young to remember what all they asked for.

My children have always been pleased with their gifts on Christmas Day. We’ve always been clear that Santa only brings them one gift (the others are from Mommy and Daddy.) And we don’t go overboard (more on that later this week).

But I just wonder if some of Flora’s wonder will be different when she sees what’s under the tree this year. And how to appropriately talk about it with her (if we need to).

Do you let your kids believe in Santa? When does the doubt creep in, and how, and what do you do about it?

12 thoughts on “Santa Conundrum No. 1: The Letter

  1. Love the letter! Most of the presents are from mommy and daddy at our house. Stockings are filled with random items – markers, toothbrush, candy, etc. And then there is a present or two from Santa. I try to always make it be something that Juliana has asked for, this year that thing she really wants is a $12 play-doh set and strawberries so that is what Santa is bringing. Thankfully she asks for reasonable things. The Santa at the mall was clearly surprised by the strawberry request.

    • I’m glad to know I am not the only mom who puts toothbrushes (and toothpaste) in stockings. That’s something I got every year in my stocking growing up, but my husband looked at me funny the first year the girls unwrapped theirs!

      Yeah, I’m going to have to keep this is mind for next year. Protip: have the letters to Santa written *early*!

  2. I think that Santa is part of the magic of Christmas for children. My girls (8 and 9) both love asking Santa for gifts but also understand that Santa only brings them one small item. We are curious things will change this coming year, we almost expected it this year. Especially when my oldest said she was going to Google how we hide their Christmas gifts and wanted to know if our parents taught us how to hide them. It was a very cute conversion.

    • Yeah, I’ll be a little sad when they stop believing in the magic elf in the red suit. But I think along with the magic, if we talk about Santa the right way, he captures the spirit of giving and generosity that is integral to Christmas. Especially for us as Catholics — “for God so loved the world, he *gave* his only son.”

  3. Ask Flora’s teacher….but some teachers use “fidgets” for kids at school to hold when they are , well, fidgety. This helps both the child-and the other students around him/her attending.

    They can be those squeeze toys (stress balls) or some have moving parts.

    Flora may have seen someone holding one and thinks they are cool (which, they are…).

  4. Honestly, I’d say that she’d be so excited over the bike that she’ll forget about her rock star set.

    One thing I remember as a kid was if Santa didn’t get us what we wanted, we could use our Christmas money and save up for it. Even Santa is allowed to make mistakes.

  5. The year my oldest was in kindergarten, he found my wrapping paper stash. I panicked, and told him that the elves were on strike, so Santa asked the parents to help wrap gifts. He then goes to school and tells his ENTIRE class that the elves all quit and there might not be a Christmas, prompting the wailing and crying of 30 very upset 5 year olds.

    I get the frantic call from his teacher. How in the world do we get ourselves out of this pickle? I had to go to leave work to go to his class and explain that the elves were fine, back to work, all was well. But it made me think, damn. Kids really DO believe anything you tell them.

    And I’ve tried to use that knowledge wisely ever since. You will do just fine. : )

    • That is hilarious — and another nightmare senario. I sometimes worry about Michael; by the time his belief in Santa will be in full bloom, Flora and Kate will (possibly) have passed out of believing in Santa at all. I wonder how we’ll deal with that. But no point in making trouble ahead of time!

Leave a Reply

