24

In the last 24 hours, this is what’s happened:

I took Michael to the pediatrician yesterday to definitely rule out an ear infection. He’s been increasingly fussy, and at meal time, downright sobs emerge from his little mouth. Also, not sleeping so well. Which, ugh.

Verdict: No ear infection, but probably a virus. The ped said his throat looked sore, which would certainly explain the mealtime meltdowns. A little Tylenol helps.

Around 6:30 last night, Michael bumped his mouth on a chair (his sisters were “playing” with him). Crying and bleeding ensued, of course, but I got something cold on it, and he settled down.

At 7:30, as I was getting him ready for bed, I noticed he still had some blood on his front tooth. I wiped it off, then watched as more blood oozed from under the gum onto his tooth.

Crap.

Okay, so I figured I would have a talk with my absolutely fantastic pediatric dentist about it the following day (today, that would be). (I worry a lot about my kids’ teeth. I have my reasons.)

Packing, packing, packing.

At 1:30 this morning, I listened to Michael fuss and whine. The definition of suspense is waiting to see if pain will wake your baby up or if tiredness will win out.

Pain won. In my stumbling around with a baby that needed Tylenol and a bottle, I stubbed my toe on something.

Only, i didn’t just stub it: I cracked the nail right across the middle. I haven’t really examined it since I slathered neosporin on it and bandaged it up at 2 a.m. I don’t want to see it or deal with it, and I will put it off as long as possible. I have no doubt, however, that that nail is a lost cause.

I got to work early (7:15 a.m.). I left work at 9:30 a.m. to take Michael to the dentist. (Tooth is fine and whole; gum is bruised but okay. I’m supposed to keep him from biting on hard stuff. Uh, yeah.)

I paid DCL. I got a new driver’s license — in record time! I went back to work and ate lunch at my desk. Worked. Ordered contacts! Really and finally!

In the next 24 hours, Dan and I will: load up the car with our children and the stuff we need for a three-day weekend at Seven Springs (which, holy cats, it’s a lot of stuff); go out to eat; drive to Seven Springs. I will attempt to settle Michael to sleep in a strange place with no AC. Attend my sister’s wedding shower. Probably deal with my toenail at some point when the bandages come off in the pool. (I know: so gross.)

This is what it’s like. Some days, I find it very stressful and I don’t like it. Some days, I just do it because it needs to be done. But most every day, there are little rewards that I take and hoard like a magpie allegedly does with shiny stuff. Kate’s laughter; Flora’s inquisitiveness; Michael’s big ol’ drooly smile. The way each of my children look to me, reach out for me, crawl to me. Hugs and kisses from Dan, as well as other gifts. The laughter, the love. Did I mention the laughter? Some days, that is the best and only thing that gets me through.

What gets you through?

6 thoughts on “24

    • My toe is not as bad as I had feared. I am keeping it covered mostly because I don’t want to snag the nail on anything and rip it off. But I think it’ll be okay.

  1. Gratitude. Especially for:
    1. All those smiles and laughs…so much JOY!
    2. You/We are not alone!
    3. Starbucks…AM and PM, if necessary
    4. Chocolate, and anything salty.
    5. Beer or wine…just one can really make a difference. seriously.
    6. Reinforcements…parents, ILs, etc.

    what a day!! i’m exhausted just reading about it! (well, it is pretty late anyway 🙂 Hope the trip is much less eventful! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

