History

When 9/11 happened, Dan and I were in Italy — on our honeymoon.

When the United States invaded Iraq, I was pregnant with Gabriel.

The whole time Dan and I have been married and creating our family, America has been a country at war. Granted, it was a remote war, and it little affected our day-to-day life. Other families have not been so lucky. And we should all be thankful to our men and women in uniform.

And now, nearly 10 years after the tragedy of 9/11, justice is done, and a man is dead.

My prayers go out to all of that man’s victims, Americans and otherwise.

My prayers go out for an end to our country’s wars. A prayer for a different world for my children. A prayer for peace.

What are you praying for today?

3 thoughts on “History

  1. I had a very strong reaction when then news of Bin Laden’s death was announced last night. Basically, I sat up in my seat in front of the TV and said “Take THAT, M–F–er!!” It’s not a very pretty statement (and not my usual liberal Democratic diplomacy), but I felt it to my gut. For the past 9+ years, there have been few days when the wars and Bin Laden are not on my mind. My job is directly related to the Department of Defense, my husband is a DoD employee, as is my brother and his wife. Two of my spouse’s nephews currently serve in the Navy and another was at the front lines of Afghanistan for 18 months with the Army as an interrogator. And so I can say that Bin Laden has affected almost everything we have done in the last 9+ years. It is best that the world is rid of him and I am so proud of the troops that made it happen. However, I really had trouble sleeping last night – part elation and adrenaline from the grim victory, part fear of retaliation. Since we are about 25 miles from the White House as the crow (or radiation) flies…it’s really on my mind. My prayer is simple…safety. Safety for all of us.

Leave a Reply

