The Big 4-0

I’m not where I thought I would be 20 years ago.

But.

It wasn’t until 10 years ago that I learned the meaning of wanting to spend the rest of my life with someone.

And it wasn’t until 7 and a half years ago that I realized I wanted to be a mother.

And it wasn’t until 6 years (and three more children) later that I realized I wanted to be a mom.

So thinking of where I could be and knowing where I am — and being happy with that — is probably the greatest thing about today.

Call it wisdom.

The next years are going to be even more incredible as I continue to raise my children, strengthen my marriage, write my thoughts, and develop my career.

I may even go back to school.

In the meantime, I’ll be taking myself and two of my three children to lunch. Kate wants to buy me Hersey kisses (with caramel) for my birthday, too, and who am I to stop her?

13 thoughts on “The Big 4-0

  1. i have never been very successful when i only go back 5 years as to where i thought i would be and where i am in life, so i’m not surprised that 20 years would be full of surprises. that’s what life is all about. we have to live it. i see where you are,and i’m very proud of my oldest daughter. you work hard at your marriage, the raising of your children (your a great mom), the growth of your faith, and the development of the person that has been blessed with great talent and realizes that we all must share our gifts with the world. just keep going and keep growing. much love dad

    • The funny thing is, Kate and I had talked about this, like, 2 or 3 weeks ago. We were watching TV (natch), and a Hershey’s Kiss with Caramel commercial came on. I told her chocolate and caramel were my favorites, and then said (just to be silly), “You can buy those for my birthday.” Then this morning when I told her it was my birthday, she said, “I didn’t buy your Hershey kisses yet, Mom.” It was so sweet!

  2. Happy Birthday. If it’s any consolation, I’m about to turn 43 and am only just coming out of a baby-coma. Only now, I am exactly where I want to be – three gorgeous kids, a new career to plan and now, for the first time, I feel like the world is at my feet. There’s no hurry.

  3. Happy Birthday, my dear friend! I will have to buy you a drink the next time you are in town…I hope it’s before MY big 40! (Or as I like to call it, my Second Annual 39th Birthday!)
    It was so great to spend some time with you and the kids while you were here…next time, we plan some girlie time!

    Happy Happy Birthday! Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

