Week 36

The news from this week’s ultrasound was not as rosy as it’s been.

There is still lots of good news:

– The baby’s growth is very good. They estimate his weight at 6 lbs., 10 oz., which means he’s already bigger than the girls were at term. The sonogram tech said they may be off as much as a pound and a half, “but you’re not having an 8 pound baby.” Which is just fine with me.

– Placenta is good and healthy looking, as is the umbilical cord.

– Heart rate is good; all systems are go.

The not-so-great news:

– Amniotic fluid is in the low-normal range. Not ideal, but not a huge reason for concern at this point.

The real bummer:

Bud is in what they call a transverse lie. This basically means instead of being head down (which is the position we want him to be in for labor and birth) he is laying sideways across my uterus.

This is not good.

On the bright side, he WAS head-down as of two days ago, when I had a midwife appointment. He wasn’t engaged yet, which is probably why he shifted. Also, the amount of fluid — again, low-normal — makes moving him back a little tricky at this point.

If he doesn’t pop his head down into my pelvis (to stay there this time), we have to take the possibility of having a c-section very seriously.

Our current course of action is: monitor movement over the weekend; get an NST Monday or Tuesday to make sure Bud continues to do well; I already have a midwife appointment, as well, so that’s covered; go back to get an ultrasound in a week to check on the fluid situation again.

When the fluid increases, the doctors or midwives can do an external cephalic version (doesn’t that sound pleasant?) to move the baby into a head-down position.

My goals:

– Drink more liquid! I will be returning to the regimen of 8 oz. of water every 15 minutes, which is what I was on with both Flora and Kate.
– Rest when I can. This will be a little trickier. I will find a way.
– Find some exercises that can help get the baby head down again.
– Talk to my chiropractor to see if she has any tricks up her sleeve to get things opened up to move the baby.

I am healthy and Bud is healthy, and a healthy outcome is all that matters. We’ve got time for things to change.

Good thoughts, people. Prayers. I’ll do my part, and Bud will do his, I’m sure.

12 thoughts on “Week 36

    • Thank you. I’m not actually too worried. We have options and courses of action. The waiting is hard, but in the end, I know that my midwives and doctors will ensure the best care for me and the Bud. And I have great support and encouragement from my husband, and our families. I’m staying positive!

  1. My daugther was a breech baby, so I got to experience the joy that is an external cephalic version. It’s just as much fun as you think it’s going to be. Not painful, just really, really uncomfortable. They keep telling you to “relax” while they’re pushing your stomach up out of your pelvis while simultaneously “encouraging” the baby to shift sideways. How, may I ask you, can you relax while that’s going on???

    Long story short: it didn’t work. I wound up having a C-section, but what really mattered (and I know you agree) is that I also had a healthy – if slightly funny looking – baby girl.

    Sending good vibes your way.

    • I’ll start practicing my deep breathing! I feel kind of lucky in that the baby’s not all the way breech. I just gotta get his head to move over a little bit and drop.

      Thanks for sharing your story!

  2. I can honestly tell you that I know exactly what you ate going through with the baby’s position. Jack turned breech 2 days before my due date and X was breech until about 36 weeks. With X I saw a chiropractor and did a bunch of the exercises on spinningbabies.com. Good luck getting him to turn. And I honestly believe that X turned once I stopped stressing about it (I actually told Jim that I was just going to schedule the c/s. X was head down 2 days later) so try to relax.

    If you do need a c/s and have any questions, let me know. I’ve done it twice now and had great experiences both times.

    • Thank you, Amy, that really means a lot! I have tons of questions, of course. I’m going to give Bud a week, and we will see where we are. In the meantime, I’ll try to write everything down.

      I don’t feel too stressed. As long as the baby and I are healthy, I feel that’s the most important thing. I think Dan is more worried than I am. Plus, as I said before, I don’t have to get him completely turned over he just needs to scootch his head more down and his butt more up!

      Thanks, again, and I’ll starting thinking up a list of questions!

  3. Thinking of you. With twins, I had a planned c-section. At first, I was disappointed that I wasn’t going to do the whole natural birth thing, but I came to the realization that the prize is the same no matter how you run the race. Sending you twisty thoughts, though! (That twisty, not twisted) 😉

  4. A friend did a bridge position to get her baby to go head down: on her back, shoulders and head on the floor, feet on the floor, lift hips up as high as they can go, hold for a minute. I remember this because when she told me I recognized the position as one of the Bikram pregnancy series poses: http://www.yogadallas.com/site/page/pg3810-as197.html (I’m not sure if the fact that I was already doing this multiple times a week was why AJ was in the correct position or if I was just lucky.)

    Good luck.

    • The tricky thing about the way the baby is laying is that he’s not breech — he’s sideways. My midwife gave me a couple of suggestions for modified positions, but she said she didn’t want me to do “flipping” positions because he doesn’t need to move too much. I also told Dan he’s going to have to have a talk with his son — right down at hip level to get him to scootch over. (Is “scootch” a word?)

      In general, most babies go head down by term. According to what I’ve been reading, true breech only occurs in about 4.5% of pregnancies (in the U.S.? I don’t know), and transverse (according to my perinatologist) is really rare at term. (Like I told Dan, “Oh, great, another ‘really rare’ thing happening in one of our pregnancies!”)

      Thank you for the suggestion, though, and the good wishes. I’ve been doing some lunges and pelvic rocking, and drinking about 20 ounces of water an hour. We’ll see where we are on Friday!

Leave a Reply

