Halloween 2010

Because I promised my dad:

We carved pumpkins the Sunday before Halloween. These were our friends’ jack-o-lanterns.

These are the girls’. Dan carved Flora’s cat; I carved the ghost carrying a candelabra, at Kate’s request. Because of the size of the pumpkin, I had to freehand this. (I drew it on the pumpkin first, and then carved.) Kate was happy, and that’s all that matters.

This is the other pumpkin Dan carved, for Nephew. It turned out awesome.

On Thursday, Kate dressed for school as Minnie Mouse. No one got a picture of her. But she ripped her dress (and I still haven’t sewed it). Fortunately, I had all the stuff for a pirate costume, thanks to a co-worker, and here she is, in her glory.

Here is Flora-cat.

Here is a girl pirate hugging a cat giving the peace sign.

They trick-or-treated Thursday night with a school friend. R’s mom called me the Sunday before Halloween to see if she could take my girls around with her girls — it was a call that came out of the blue, and I sincerely cannot thank her enough. I dropped off the girls, and went home to hand out candy.

The girls had a great time, and brought home their weight in candy. I have already divested them of half of it, and donated it to my workplace. We’ll just work through the rest, one piece at a time.

2 thoughts on “Halloween 2010

  1. I feel bad that I read all the time, but don’t comment much; I appreciate all your posts!

    The costumes and pumpkins look really good. Sounds like you all had a good time, and I bet it was a great relief that R.’s mom took the girls.

    My blog is temporarily out of commission, but once I get it back up, we’ll post some Halloween stuff, too. 🙂

    • Honestly, I need a system for reading and commenting on blogs. It’s like a part time job! 🙂

      Halloween ‹ or treat-or-treating at least ‹ did end up going really well. A scramble to come home, feed them (TRY to feed them), dress them and get them to R’s house, but it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

