Week 12

Today I had an ultrasound and some early testing done.

In short, everything looks good — looks very good. We got to hear the heartbeat (136 beats per minute) and see Le Bud in all his/her teeny glory.

In long (why isn’t that a thing?), the appointment took a long time. We were about 20 minutes late, which didn’t help — construction is rerouting traffic so that a stretch of road that usually takes 10 minutes at rush hour now takes 30. Not cool.

Anyhoo, they were not stressed about it at all. We saw a genetic counselor, had an ultrasound (that took a really, really long time), saw a perinatologist (Dr. D), and I had some blood drawn.

Most of this stuff has to due with my, ahem, “advanced maternal age” and if any of you choose to use such a phrase on me, in person, you better be out of arms’ reach because I will slug you. Just so you know.

The ultrasound test (an NT scan) took so bloody long because Le Bud declined to be a convenient position, and it took five or six go-rounds to get the measurement needed. I mean, I had to empty my bladder “a little” (which was almost painful), then empty it all the way, then get up and walk around, and cough, and get up and walk around some more.

But Le Bud finally cooperated (I guess), and the tech got what she needed.

Then we had a long chat with Dr. D, who’s a very nice guy, and made a plan for monitoring this pregnancy. We talked about low-dose aspirin (aka baby aspirin) to help with blood flow between me and the baby; it’s something I’ll talk more about with my midwives as well. There also seem to be some concerns about my weight, which is on the skinny side, but when I told him I gained 40 pounds with each of my pregnancies (no lie), he seemed relieved.

On that note, about two weeks ago, I developed a sudden aversion to peanuts and peanut butter, and any product containing either of those things. This is of concern to me because, as a vegetarian, I have depended on such things to up my calorie count during pregnancy. Maybe the aversion will lift as I move into the second trimester. But it’s definitely weird.

What other high-calorie (vegetarian) foods should I stock up on in case peanuts and/or peanut butter continue to gross me out? And, no, my aversion has not been replaced with cravings for cheeseburgers or bacon.

Let the second trimester begin! (And let the nausea subside!)

6 thoughts on “Week 12

  1. I gained 65 lbs (but I’m recently back to within 5 lbs of my starting weight! Woo-hoo!) A lot of that was due to donuts, which I believe are both vegetarian and high in calories, but I don’t think that’s what you meant. What about other nuts/nut butters? Cheese?

    • Are eggs okay? I just checked and the protein in Barilla Plus pasta is from legumes and eggs. My husband and son both like plain pasta, so I buy the Barilla Plus, so I feel like they’re getting something other than carbs. (I am not sponsored by Barilla Plus. I just like it.)

      • Eggs are OK — I usually like to go with organic/”free range”/cage-free eggs (how I wish my CSA provided eggs!), but I will check out that pasta. Because I do like the pasta, and I need the protein to pack on some pounds. (I know how popular I am for having this problem.) Almonds seem to be okay; I haven’t tried any other nuts or nut butters, yet. The whole thing is so weird, and I keep hoping it’ll resolve itself. Also, I just realized I’m really wanting some yogurt, so that’s going on the shopping list. And cheese is always fine, especially Amy’s mac’n’cheese.

        And donuts are always just fine, too, IMO. I just don’t go out of my way to get my hands on some. 😉

  2. Almond butter is yummy! I totally craved dairy with Aidan…I would have a PB (or in your case, almond butter) sandwich and a pint glass of milk every night before bed…milk is 1g protein per oz. Cottage cheese is good too, if you can eat it. Also, try looking for some Quinoa/corn pasta (its gluten free). In addition to more protein, Also has extra iron., Couscous also has extra protein and is SO easy to make…boil water for 5 min, add couscous, cover, turn heat OFF and 5 minutes later it is done! A little high in sodium for the flavored ones, but yummy with seasoned black beans, or toss with sliced almonds and sweet peas and curry. I used to eat raw almonds and walnuts by the handful daily…but have stopped since I am on weight watchers 😦 There is also Ezekiel “woman’s” Bread that is high in protein and omega 3s, but is very coarse…good toasted with scrambled eggs, though. Maybe your doctor could refer you to a nutritionist? Just for more suggestions. Call me if you need anything! so glad you got to hear the heartbeat and all is well! Take care and TRY to rest! Love to you all!

    • I haven’t tried almond butter again, yet, although I have been a fan in the past. That’s my next shopping trip. I didn’t know couscous had protein; we love it in my house, so I will try that, too! and the quinoa/corn pasta sounds like a good plan, too. I can eat cottage cheese, I just didn’t think of it. I will check for that ‘woman’s’ bread — I like coarse bread a lot actually.

      I drink a glass of soy milk every night right now, about 12 oz., usually with a sweet snack. I am also thinking about avocados, but I don’t know when they are in season. I mean, I guess I can get them any time, but I do like buying fruits and veggies in season mostly. And I love avocados and guacamole. I’m also thinking of eggs and egg salad, and olives, maybe tapenade. I know they aren’t chock full of protein, but they do have FAT! (I know, I know, it’s usually a good problem to have.)

      Good luck on Weight Watchers! You always look great to me! xoxo

Leave a Reply

