Whoa!

Holy cats!

Where did all you people come from? My stats went through the roof, and I have more than 50 comments! That’s crazy — I mean, for some bloggers, even “mommy” bloggers (hate that term) it may be par for the course. But otherwise: insane.

Anyhoo, I haven’t looked at or responded to anything since 9 p.m. last night: LOST, doctor’s appointments, work, etc., etc. I probably won’t respond to each and every comment, either.

Overall, I stand by the three things that lead me to support healthcare reform that I mentioned yesterday. I just think it’s the right, civilized thing for our country to do. I haven’t wavered in that through all my research.

Also: I understand the concerns about costs and federally mandated rules, I do. I just don’t share those concerns — they are not as overarching for me as what I just wrote. That may prove to be short-sighted. Time will tell.

I will emphasize these three points: It is not a government takeover of healthcare. Federal dollars will not be used to pay for abortions (this was important to me, too). And there are many aspects of the bill that go into effect immediately and within the first year.

Now if you will excuse me, I’m going to slog through my comments to see if I need to remove anyone from the pool. Differences of opinion, as long as they are not made in an inappropriate way, will stand.

After all, if we were all the same, life would be boring.

13 thoughts on “Whoa!

  1. I didn’t comment on the original post, but I read it and I’m in your corner on this one. Health care reform is a moral and social imperative.

    The amount of misinformation swirling around this issue is staggering.

    Before I saw Michael Kirschner’s comment, I was thinking “I’ve got to post on this and get some of that action… ” Will probably anyway… it’s been a while since I’ve done a political flaming…

    • Why didn’t you comment? It would have been nice, at least, to see a familiar face! 🙂 Although I do know aidensmama.

      holy cats, I never thought to start any of that. I should have just said what you said about the moral and social imperative!

      • @bluz: Get in there, man! This dang post is going to be on wordpress’s home page for like, a week. I can’t hold off the crazies on my own! Okay, they’re not crazy, just misinformed.

      • I heard recordings of some of the Right-to-Lifers making phoning in threats to the various Congressmen… yeah, they’re crazy.

        So concerned about the sanctity of life that they’re making death threats… Hypocritical much?

        I don’t blame you for closing comments on the last post… must be tiring playing online playground-mommy.

      • Exactly, bluz. I don’t understand protecting the sanctity of life until a person is actually born. I’m pretty much a womb-to-grave kind of chick myself.

        Again, I do thank you for your weighing-in. I needed some back up! Next time you’re in the ‘burgh, I’ll buy you a beer.

      • That makes me so angry!!! I don’t care what you believe, but just believe in it 100%. You can’t say “abortion is wrong b/c it’s murder” then bomb an abortion clinic and kill doctors!!! IT MAKES NO SENSE.
        Thanks @albamaria30 for not being like that. I always enjoy your opinion!

      • Ah, but they justify it by saying that unborn children are defenseless. Because any doctor expects to be shot at church, and should plan accordingly. /sarcasm

  2. I…I…I don’t understand. This appears to be a HCR blog post without name calling or fear mongering. This…this I cannot abide.

Leave a Reply

